Home / About Us / Live Well Resources / Southwell honors associates at virtual awards ceremony

Southwell honors associates at virtual awards ceremony

With the theme “We rise by lifting one another,” Southwell recently recognized 2021 award winners and long-serving employees at a virtual awards ceremony.

“Each year, our system holds an awards banquet to salute our skilled, compassionate, and hard-working staff members.  Due to the ongoing pandemic, we are recognizing our honorees virtually again this year,” said Chris Dorman, Southwell president and chief executive officer.

Southwell presented the John B. Prince III Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Steve Rigdon. “Dr. Rigdon was integral in establishing Tift Regional Medical Center as the healthcare institution of choice within our region and beyond,” said Dorman. “He provided skilled and compassionate adult medicine for more than 40 years, which improved the lives of countless patients and enhanced the overall health of our community.”

Named after the chairman of the Tift County Hospital Authority, the John B. Prince III Distinguished Service Award recognizes “a longstanding associate of Southwell who is also an established leader in the community, using their influence to enhance the mission of the hospital.”

Mamie Stephens with Hospice of Tift Area was recognized as the Dixon-Dorminy Employee of the Year for Tift Regional Medical Center.

Allison Horne with Southwell Health and Rehabilitation was named the Southwell Medical Outstanding Employee of the Year. 

The winner of the Jensen-Patrick Nursing Excellence Award, an award presented by the Tift Regional Medical Center Foundation, was Bernadette Owens, RN for Hospice of Tift Area.

The foundation also presented the Exceptional Physician Award to Dr. Vincent Valencia with Southwell Medical Adel Primary Care.

The foundation also presented two Advanced Practice Provider Leadership Awards. The awards were presented to Tom Shoup, PA-C and Francis Wisham, PA.

Southwell also saluted employees with five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years of service. Employees receiving special recognition for 40 years-of-service include Peggy Morrow, Medical Imaging; Earnest Reese, Operating Room; and Jane Richardson, Transfer Center.

 “At the best of times, doctors, nurses, and support staff are heroes to us all. But in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, healthcare workers across our system have been asked to step-up in new and unprecedented ways,” Dorman said. “Our team members have been asked to balance the COVID-19 challenges of their profession with the responsibilities of their personal lives and families. Their strength, resiliency, and innovation does not go unnoticed. I would like to express my deep gratitude to all of our staff.”

To view the virtual awards ceremony, visit https://vimeo.com/mysouthwell or www.facebook.com/mysouthwell.